Jennifer Behnke – Coalition Coordinator

Jennifer earned her Master of Public Health degree from Des Moines University, focusing on emergency preparedness and response.  Her areas of interest include electronic patient tracking, healthcare system surge capacity and response to mass casualty incidents, emerging pathogens, and emergency preparedness for children and special populations.  Before joining SCWIHERC, she worked in inpatient and emergency department patient care areas and as a medical laboratory scientist in clinical microbiology.

Ben Eithun

Ben Eithun – SCWIHERC Vice, Trauma

UW Health

Ben was born and raised in Madison, Wisconsin. He moved to Philadelphia to attend the University of Pennsylvania for his BSN. After graduation he worked in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) where he got his first taste of trauma. He was part of the trauma nursing committees and took a professional interest in trauma, specifically pediatric trauma. He obtained his masters from University of Pennsylvania and worked at CHOP as a PICU Nurse Practitioner. He came home to Wisconsin after about a decade hiatus and took a position as the pediatric trauma program manager at the American Family Children’s Hospital of the UW Health system. As part of that role he has had the pleasure to work with many regional partners and has been active in the South Central Regional Trauma Advisory Council serving as Chair of the Performance Improvement committee and serving on the executive committee, as well as serving as previous Chair and current Vice Chair of the SCWIHERC.

Dan Williams – RTAC Coordinator


Dan Williams has worked in public safety for over 26 years, both as a volunteer and a career firefighter/paramedic.  Currently Dan works for the City of Madison Fire Department, where he is a Firefighter-Paramedic, rescue-diver, and SWAT/TEMS Team Lead Medic.  Dan has enjoyed coordinating the South Central RTAC for the past 10 years, and looks forward to saving lives by strengthening the regional trauma care system.

Aurielle Smith, SCWIHERC Chair- Public Health

Public Health Madison and Dane County – Director of Policy, Planning, and Evaluation

Aurielle earned her Bachelor’s degree from Gannon University in Erie, Pennsylvania. While in Erie, she worked in public health for 3 years at the Erie County Department of Health. She moved to Madison, Wisconsin to work in trauma care and prevention. She completed her Master of Public Health degree and now oversees public health emergency preparedness at Public Health Madison and Dane County.  Aurielle also serves as SCWIHERC’s Chair.

Michael Lohmeier – Medical Advisor

UW Health

Michael Lohmeier completed his EM Residency and EMS Fellowship at Washington University in Saint Louis.  He is currently an Emergency Physician at the UW Health, and the Medical Director for Dane County EMS.  His areas of interest include Education, Tactical EMS, Ground Transport and Disaster Preparedness.  He plans to develop the EMS Research program and start and accredited EMS Fellowship at UW in the next few years.