May 3, 2021 Meeting

SCWIHERC General Membership Meeting May 3, 2021 Notes

Meeting recording (expires May 3, 2022):

Intro updates and reminders:
SCWIHERC is seeking nominations for a hospital representative on our Board of Directors. Nominations should be sent to by May 17.
SCWIHERC still has UV lights disinfection lights available to partners, reach out to for more info.

Katherine Johnson, WI DHS OPEHC Systems Coordinator, gave an update on several platforms and projects:
EMResource: SNFs have been built in EMResource and we are working to engage them to have them update their bed availability weekly or as it changes. This was a lesson learned during the pandemic with discharging patients needing post-acute care, and the hope is that this will be an up to date resource that hospital discharge planners can use to find open beds while benefitting SNFs who have open beds. This webinar was recorded to show SNF users the system:
Event response has been somewhat poor recently, including for real events. Please check your alerts and ensure your phone is confirmed to receive text alerts. We are looking at bringing on voice alerts, which enable the system to robodial any phone number to indicate there is an event going on. This would be particularly beneficial for organizations that carry phones that do not receive text messages.
EMTrack, the patient tracking software, and eICS, incident management software for the HERCs are both expected to go live soon and more information will be coming. This link provides a demo on how EMTrack works:
WISCOM: WI DHS had a funding opportunity to provide updated type 1 WISCOM radios to all hospitals in the state at no cost to the hospitals. See separate email on May 3 from Jennifer for a flyer with details. Hospitals will be asked to provide a contact where the WISCOM agreement should be sent for signature via Docusign if they wish to receive the new equipment.

We had an open discussion on COVID-19 including strategies for reaching those still unvaccinated. Partners are using different approaches including walk in clinics, flexible clinic hours, targeting outreach to include the homebound, vulnerable, BIPOC communities, using creative venues including parks, malls, job centers, workplaces to meet people where they live, work, and play. Some are holding local vaccinator coordination meetings to guide their planning and improve equity. Business partnerships that were forged during previous outbreaks are now being leveraged to offer vaccine clinics for their workforce.

We reviewed existing SCWIHERC plans and our Health Emergency Planner, Amanda Hauser, gave an overview of the new state and regional burn plans. The burn plans detail how we plan to coordinate and provide care to patients for up to 72 hours in the event of a burn mass casualty incident if the burn centers in the state (UW Health and Columbia St. Mary’s Milwaukee) are already full, and burn victims have to be cared for at all trauma centers (including level I, II, III and IV) until they can be transferred to burn centers in the state or out of the state if needed. Level II trauma centers are asking to serve as burn surge facilities and will hear from us separately on what that entails. Level III and IV trauma centers are being asked to facilitate several RNs, an ED physician, and a general surgeon receive ABLS Now training to be able to provide this care. WI DHS and SCWIHERC have some funding to support the provision of this training.
All SCWIHERC plans can be found in the SCWIHERC shared drive. They were recently updated for the year and we are seeking feedback on them; after they are finalized, we will be asking our partners to sign off acknowledging these plans. See separate email from Jennifer for more information.

SCWIHERC still intends to host a COVID-19 AAR in late summer, hopefully in person! SCWIHERC also intends to host a Healthcare Recovery TTX in the fall, rescheduled from spring 2020.

Meeting attendance:
Kurt Hoeper- Upland Hills Health
Charlie Johnson- SSM Health Waupun
Jodi Moyer- Beloit Health System
Tina Strandlie- Stoughton Health
Laura Kane- UW Health
Eric Anderson- Dane County EMS/EM
Ben Eithun- SCWIHERC and UW Health
Alesha Erdenberger- Care and Rehab
Terra Whirry- Columbia County HD
Tanna McKeon- Green Co EM
Sam LaMuro- Fort Health Care
Josh Kowalke- Reedsburg Area Ambulance
Kara Takes- Unified Therapy
Julie Staffin- Mayville EMS
Jen Weadge- Rock Co HD
Aurielle Smith- PH Madison and Dane County
Mary Tessendorf- Monroe Clinic
Erin Francois- New Glarus Home
Christal Foreyt- Gundersen Boscobel
Dave Kitkowski- St. Clare Baraboo
Gail Scott- Jefferson Co HD
Alison Hanamann- Edgerton Hospital
Amanda Gessler- St. Mary’s Madison
Jeff Kindrai- Grant Co HD
Amy Nehls- Dodge County EM
Leslie Cody- Allay Hospice
Asa Rowan- Beloit Area Community Health Centers
Angie Cohen- Grant Regional Health Center
David Drews- Columbia Co
Belle Koch- Sauk Prairie Hospital
Ed Somers- Clearview Dodge Co
Sharon Warden- Mile Bluff Medical Center
Sally Blackbourn- Memorial Hospital of Lafayette Co
Diana Quinn- SSM Health
Ron Krause- Mercyhealth
Suzanne Schreiner- Adams Co HD
Brian Allen- Southwest Health
Shelly Beschta- Reedsburg Area Medical Center
Christa Drays- Rainbow Hospice
Steve Haskell- UW Health
Dawn Eskau- Marquette Co HD
Mike Hall- Monroe Clinic
Bob Swenarski- St. Mary’s Janesville
Bill Ritzer- Reedsburg Area Medical Center
Kathy Johnson- Columbia County EM
Emily Kosterman- Waupun Memorial Hospital
Sharon Rateike- St. Mary’s Janesville
Carol Brown- Rainbow Hospice
Debbie Siegenthaler- Iowa Co HD
Jane Gervais- Adams Co EM
Ann Zenk- Wisconsin Hospital Association
Stephanie Kuschel- Mercyhealth
Kevin Weber- Sauk Prairie Ambulance
Ben Ruyle- St. Clare Baraboo
Heather Poker- St. Mary’s Madison
Jodie Molitor- Sauk Co HD
Erin Hastert- Lafayette Co HD
Tammy Kingery- Gunderson Moundview
Jennifer Vosen- Sauk Co Health Care Center
Nathan Bubenzer- Meriter UPH
Donna Haugom- Jefferson County EM
Dave Larson- Madison VA
Carrie Meier- Dane County EM
Alison Chouinard- Rock Co HD
Jessica Lake- FBI
Carmen Luther- Reedsburg Area Medical Center
Michael Niles- Rock Co HD
Karen Sell- Prairie Ridge Health Columbus
Katherine Johnson- WI DHS OPEHC
Amanda Hauser- WI DHS OPEHC
Jennifer Behnke- SCWIHERC