Ben Eithun

Ben Eithun – SCWIHERC Vice, Trauma

UW Health

Ben was born and raised in Madison, Wisconsin. He moved to Philadelphia to attend the University of Pennsylvania for his BSN. After graduation he worked in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) where he got his first taste of trauma. He was part of the trauma nursing committees and took a professional interest in trauma, specifically pediatric trauma. He obtained his masters from University of Pennsylvania and worked at CHOP as a PICU Nurse Practitioner. He came home to Wisconsin after about a decade hiatus and took a position as the pediatric trauma program manager at the American Family Children’s Hospital of the UW Health system. As part of that role he has had the pleasure to work with many regional partners and has been active in the South Central Regional Trauma Advisory Council serving as Chair of the Performance Improvement committee and serving on the executive committee, as well as serving as previous Chair and current Vice Chair of the SCWIHERC.

John Rago – SCWIHERC Vice Chair, EMS

Baraboo District Ambulance Service- Deputy Chief of Emergency Medical Services

John has served with Baraboo Ambulance Service for over 20 years and Baraboo Fire Department for over 16 years.

He is licensed Paramedic in the State of Wisconsin and holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Psychology/Secondary Education from University of Wisconsin – Superior.  He currently serves on several boards including the South Central Regional Trauma Advisory Council and South Central Wisconsin Healthcare Emergency Readiness Coalition.

Aurielle Smith, SCWIHERC Chair- Public Health

Public Health Madison and Dane County – Director of Policy, Planning, and Evaluation

Aurielle earned her Bachelor’s degree from Gannon University in Erie, Pennsylvania. While in Erie, she worked in public health for 3 years at the Erie County Department of Health. She moved to Madison, Wisconsin to work in trauma care and prevention. She completed her Master of Public Health degree and now oversees public health emergency preparedness at Public Health Madison and Dane County.  Aurielle also serves as SCWIHERC’s Chair.

Sarah Mattes – Public Health

Public Health Madison and Dane County

Sarah joined Public Health Madison & Dane County in 2015 as a public health supervisor where she oversees department communications, performance management, and emergency preparedness activities. Previous to that, she spent over 10 years at the University of Wisconsin – Madison supporting local coalitions and health departments in communicating health education and advocacy messages effectively.

Sue Matye – Public Health

Iowa County Health Department
Sue received her BSN at Clarke University in Dubuque, Iowa.  She started her career in Public Health at the Lafayette County Health Department in 2000 and has been the Director/Health Officer for the Iowa County Health Department since 2015.
Paul Hable

Paul Hable – Hospital

Fort HealthCare

Paul Hable is the Director of Laboratory & Safety at Fort HealthCare. He has a Master of Science degree in Occupational and Environmental Safety and Health from UW-Whitewater (2001), and a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Marquette University (1975). Paul is married and has five grown children, and currently enjoys motorcycle riding, and serving as the personal care taker for two Weimaraners.

Kraig Biefeld

Kraig Biefeld – EMS

Watertown Fire Department

(920) 261-8812 ext. 338

Fire Chief Kraig Biefeld is the Director of EMS for the Watertown Fire Department. Chief Biefeld has held the position of Director of EMS since 2008, was promoted to Fire Chief in 2017, and has been in the Fire and EMS service for over 20 years. Kraig is a licensed Paramedic in the State of Wisconsin. He is president of the Jefferson County EMS Association, the Chairperson for the Jefferson County Local Emergency Planning Committee, and one of the EMS representatives to the South Central Healthcare Coalition.